Retro Movie Poster Chat Thread

blumaster

Premium Supporter
Mar 12, 2012
Omaha
Probably the coolest movie posters ever created....
egt582.jpg

starwarsrussia.jpg

star-wars-russian-movie-poster-puma-style.jpg

5443.jpg

:thumbs:

Last edited by a moderator:
circa 1990 movie posters from the first American movie to ever be released in Russia. I've been dying for the Rock Monster one for a couple of years now. The 3 sheet, Space Cowboy goes for insane money. And yes, that is a Cat Vader.

I've been dying for the Rock Monster one for a couple of years now.

Agreed, the Rock Monster one is super cool, IMHO, and I would not mind getting me one of those.

FYI, all except for the third one attached, say "Star Wars", a "galactic western"; the third informs us that it is a "cosmic western". Thought it was kind of funny :)

you guys are insane. These pieces are great. Interpretative art at it's finest. Absolutely unique visions by artists who lived under communist pressures.

Last edited:
you guys are insane. These pieces are great. Interpretative art at it's finest. Absolutely unique visions by artists who lived under communist pressures.

Even at an interpretive level these don't make sense, unless the artists had never seen the movies at all. If I can't identify an element from the movie in the poster, it stops being a movie poster and simply become an art piece. I can't go draw an image of a turtle and call it a jaws poster.

Even at an interpretive level these don't make sense, unless the artists had never seen the movies at all. If I can't identify an element from the movie in the poster, it stops being a movie poster and simply become an art piece. I can't go draw an image of a turtle and call it a jaws poster.